Here's how his scam works: he has downloaded pirated Rosetta Stone software from a bit torrent pirate site but it is non-functional. He sets up a face to face meeting with you using the name Ray, James, or Julian at some neutral location in the Tampa area, such as 19416 Via Del Mar, Tampa, FL 33647, a condo development off of Bruce B. Downs highway. He arrives late in a blue sedan (impala?), perhaps to scope you out first to make sure you are not a cop.
He claims the disks are originals and makes up a story why he doesn't have the box, etc. You pay cash. But what you get are forgeries and an authorization code that doesn't work. He has scanned the original disk labels and just ink jet prints them onto blank disks to make them look authentic. Wet your finger and they smudge.
"Julian" and these details have been reported to the Hillsborough County Sheriff, the IC3, Rosetta, and the BSA. He is mid-30's, dark hair and complexion, speaks with a foreign accent, and is medium short.
A poster below says he goes by James, is a fake latino and drives a blue impala.
By cross-referencing various online ads (mostly on Craig's) I have verified that these are all the same guy in Tampa.
Here is another Anonymous comment from 4/12/11:
His current ad is using the phone (727) 320-3611.
Mr. A posted another comment 4-13-11:
Again, remember that Rosetta Stone does not allow ANY resale of used or even retail purchased kits. You may not like their policy, but them's the facts. So flag away on Craigslist.
A poster below says he goes by James, is a fake latino and drives a blue impala.
By cross-referencing various online ads (mostly on Craig's) I have verified that these are all the same guy in Tampa.
- I just called his new number 813-415-4651 or 813-766-4995 0r 770-6739 New name guys (Mike) James,Julian,bill,diego same person.. be carefull guys i found 4 guys in tampa bay area selling copies (if you buy copies dont pay more than $80 per set and have them check it in front of you before you pay)
Here is another Anonymous comment from 4/12/11:
Wait this is (Crazy) there are all over florida, I got a new report from the sherrif dept. I have a girl name lisa selling fakes rosetta stone,px90s,dvds cell# (813) 325-9505 and another guy name tony from clearwater 727-514-7380 they are selling alot of fakes stuffsIt's my own opinion and observation that Julian-James whatever in Tampa advertises in several online ad venues including Key West, Orlando, and Jacksonville, as well as New Port Richey. Often the same "burn phone" number is used in several of these ads, with different names.
so there is like 10 or more people doing the same s___ all over florida. The cops dont do s___ they just fill a report.
His current ad is using the phone (727) 320-3611.
Mr. A posted another comment 4-13-11:
No you are wrong the guy name is Tony his new number is Tony 727-992-7071 and sometimes a girl called Lisa pick up the phone they are selling new items for $250 they buy the stuffs from new york (this are replicas) but they look originals..to be honest with you 90%of the software now is pirated (buy at the store in person (not ebay or any websiteHowever this isn't exactly the same guy who ripped us off. Googling the phone number you see them selling Windows 7 packages on adpost.com, and their complete name, address, etc. is there in the Tampa Bay area.
Again, remember that Rosetta Stone does not allow ANY resale of used or even retail purchased kits. You may not like their policy, but them's the facts. So flag away on Craigslist.